State of Mind

I am disabled: I have a neurological condition that severely inhibits my ability to recognise non-verbal communication, increases my anxiety in new social situations or with large groups of unknown people.

I am not registered as disabled: I claim ESA and DLA, but my condition is not severe enough that it causes significant and consistent problems with interacting with the rest of the world and the people in it.

I do not consider myself disabled: I am highly intelligent, very creative and highly skilled across many talents.

I am not perceived as disabled: I am high-functioning enough that my disability often passes un-noticed, my disability is not physical, I can pass for 10 years younger than my actual age, and (probably most significantly) I am a white Anglo-Saxon male.

This entry was posted in Aspergers, Brian, Equality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

